Juxta Sun and Moon

17 Nov

Full moon setting in the west while sun rises in east.

I have a predilection for juxtapositions. Maybe it’s the contrary Indian* in me, or the Trickster that sits on my shoulder. Contrasts fascinate me. Not just the binary, the extreme opposites: it is also the transitions, all the gray in between.

One early morning before sunrise, I dug out the monopod, attached the Sony NEX camera and climbed up the hill behind us in the dark trying my best to avoid the prickly pear and other thorny things that grab and don’t let go without leaving a reminder. At 3,493 feet, lonely Maverick Mnt. obscures the rising sun from us while situated at its base. However, a small hill allows enough elevation for an expansive view to the north and west and invites a contemplatin’ mood’.  I have climbed it in the past and sat on my haunches while observing life below like a Fool on the Hill.

This time I climbed with a mission. I knew the full moon would be setting on the west horizon as the sun rose in the eastern sky. Although I didn’t expect to capture the magnificent sunrises we are rewarded with at El Punto, views of the western skies on this hill are outstanding. So I crouched, waiting, like a coyote; quietly watching. And was rewarded.

Moon fades to the west as sun rises in the east.

Although the sunrise was obscured in the east, I caught its glow to the south. I especially like this time of the day as the angle of light illuminates and greets plants and other surfaces that face south. And the opposite sides are hidden in shadow. Another subject of contrasts and juxtapositions; food for a Contrary.

Sun and shadows: interplay of light and darkness, day and night.

* A Contrary was a member of a Native American tribe or group who adopted behavior that was deliberately the opposite of other tribal members, and often displayed in ritual dances and ceremonies. Contraries were usually found among the historical tribes of the Great Plains.  It was their life, rather than just an occasional performance, and it was often antagonistic to the tribe’s  lifestyles and conventions. It was analogous to the European clown. Another form of the social trickster (or, shall we say, Devil’s Advocate?).

Leave a Reply

