Buried, but still beating

23 Nov

268563_165140516886706_7492766_n

“You can never go Home again.”

Sometimes places where we plant our heart are lost to us. We plant our feet, hang our hats, and embed our souls in a place. Then sometimes we have to walk away and let it go. But we never do let go completely. Pieces of us remain, parts of our heart or soul may be buried there, and all we take with us are the memories. Yet those buried hearts still beat. And pump that which connected us to those places through our veins. We still carry them with us.

This is the place where part of my heart still lies. Buried now. But still beats quietly. And sometimes I find myself back there in spirit. If not in person. Just like other places before this, and those places that have yet to receive my beating heart. Funny how we scatter ourselves and leave pieces behind.

Morning has broken like the first morning.....

Morning has broken like the first morning…..

2 Responses to “Buried, but still beating”

  1. Dragnfli November 23, 2013 at 4:32 pm #

    I, too, know those hills. I only spent one week there and the place now holds a piece of my heart. I don’t think it’s just that exact 20 acres, but it’s the desert and long views. I could find other acres to keep my heart and I’m sure you can too.

  2. Elzi November 23, 2013 at 5:39 pm #

    Is more than just the views. It is also the part of me that I planted there. Is like planting a seed of your favorite flower or tree. There may be other trees and flowers around that look like it. But it is special because you handled the seed, prepared the spot, nurtured it, and both you and that tree or flower become one. Throughout the storms, the droughts, the hail, the sunrises and sunsets, the star light and voracious winds. It calls to me and I can’t answer.
    Yes, there will be a new place; a new flower and a new tree. But that piece of my heart will always lie beating in the hard unforgiving ground, and surrounded by a magic that shines and nurtures it there.

Leave a Reply

