Mountains in the desert

19 Dec

I just found a topo map online for the area I now live. The ‘bird’s eye’ perspective is profound. I live in a basin at 3,625′, surrounded by mountains reaching up to 5,728′, and next to two mountains at 4,420′ and 4,416′, and within a mile’s distance of Tornillo Creek which meanders south to the Rio Grande, winding its way through centuries of geological and paleohistory.

It has been years since I’ve lived in the bosom of mountains. They aren’t a distant landmark this time, or an emblem on the horizon. I can touch and feel them; I cling to their skirts. I am their child, along with the owls, quail, deer, birds and reptiles. They comfort me when I am here, and sooth my dreams when asleep. The saddle next to me is a window in which the moon rises and Orion dreams. My night companions are a nesting pair of Great Horned owls. I wish I could fly with them and see what they see below.

And I feel right at Home.

Owl peak, 4,416'

Owl peak, 4,416′

2 Responses to “Mountains in the desert”

  1. Dragnfli December 19, 2013 at 10:19 am #

    Try google maps, you can get a bird’s eye view.

  2. Macrobe December 20, 2013 at 6:20 am #

    I use it often! 🙂

Leave a Reply

