10 Reasons Why Young Scientists Should Read (non-scientific) Literature

14 Feb

Excellent blog post (10 Reasons Why Young Scientists Should Read (non-scientific) Literature) written by student Amy Wray in a research lab (Josh Drew -Ecology, Evolution and Conservation of Coral Reefs) at Columbia University on why scientists should read non-science literature. I wholly agree and approve. Except for one statement:

“There are many reasons why everyone should read literature, but I believe that young scientists in particular can benefit greatly from engaging with literary texts.”

Her suggestions apply to ALL scientists, young and old(er).

The Drew Lab at Columbia University

This is a guest post by a student in our program Amy Wray (@amykwray) who comes to us from UC Berkeley where she did her senior thesis on the theme of disease ecology in James Joyce’s work. -JAD

 

10 Reasons Why Young Scientists Should Read Literature

 

            There are many reasons why everyone should read literature, but I believe that young scientists in particular can benefit greatly from engaging with literary texts. As an undergraduate I studied both Biology and English, and sometimes people ask me why I chose a seemingly unusual combination. Usually my answer is that I just kept taking classes in the things that I liked, but this response breezes over the true complexities of the matter. There is much more to the story because to me the two things aren’t so different after all, and I think that there are a lot of skills…

View original post 1,610 more words

Leave a Reply

