On Being an Osprey

15 May

My treat for the day was watching the osprey finally get a fish on its fourth dive into the pond.

I can see its eyes, its talons, it indecisiveness and aborting a dive. I can almost feel it spring out of the water, shaking that cold wetness from its feathered back and wings, climb back up in the air, and finding a thermal to coast, I could almost feel its exhaustion.

I stood there with my eyes projected through the binoculars, almost flying and diving with it, smiling and rooting for this osprey, calling it ‘Sweetheart’, and remembering why it was known as the ‘sea eagle’ where I grew up.

I love ospreys. If I can’t be an osprey, take me with you in flight and in dive.

Osprey at Yellowstone; photo by Jean Philippe Dugault, French nature photographer.

Osprey at Yellowstone; photo by Jean Philippe Dugault, French nature photographer.

One Response to “On Being an Osprey”

  1. danny and maggie hancock May 21, 2015 at 12:20 pm #

    wonderful image for sure. i’d hate to be on the other end of those talons.

Leave a Reply

